Import slice components into main app

How do I use a component from a slice in my main application?

I’ve created a slice to contain the business logic for a domain in my application. Now, I would like to be able to use one of the components in that slice in my main application, but I cannot seem to figure out how to access it.

I am relatively new to Hanami, so I could be thinking/approaching this incorrectly.

I know it’s not what your’e asking, but I’d not use the main application in the first place, but rather have a separate slice for business, and separate slice for the main application.

Could you share what you have tried so far? I expect that this didn’t work?

import from: :business

Ref: V2.1: Slices | Hanami Guides

Thanks for your reply.

So, do you think the /app directory serves any purpose? I checked out your example app a little. Looks like you have some base types defined there.

I skimmed through this thread on app structure. I probably need to give it another read.

Yeah, I tried import. It doesn’t work as described for slices because slice.parent is nil. :frowning:

Hi, @aaricpittman.

The bottom line is that app and any slices you create simply act as “containers” in Hanami’s component management system. This really just means that they are namespaces that get auto-loaded when your app boots.

This section of the Hanami guides walks through the boot process and how components in the app directory get auto-loaded.

This section discusses “containers” and the component management system in more depth. Pay attention to the section on dependency injection. Even though all of the examples use components from the app container, you will use the same technique to access components you create in your slices.

Finally, the slices guide should pull it all together for you, particularly the section on slice imports and exports.