How to mix database and non database attributes on an entity?

Hi everyone, I am new to Hanami and I couldn’t find a definitive answer on what is the best way to have “virtual” or “not database persisted” attribute on an entity?

The example I have is I think very common, it’s the password attribute on a User. Since what gets stored is the encrypted_password, password itself is “non persisted”.

What I ended up doing is just going with plain ruby approach by changing the initializer on User entity:

def initialize(attributes = nil)
  if attributes && attributes[:password]
    attributes = attributes.merge(encrypted_password: encrypt(attributes[:password]))
  end

super(attributes)
end

This works but only if User.new is called so I can’t use UserRepository#create directly and I have to do (in an action):

UserRepository.new.create(User.new(params[:user]))

Is there a better way?

P.S. Somewhat unrelated, I’m wondering why Repository#create doesn’t call Entity.new? Being new to Hanami I assumed Repository.new.create(params) is just a convenience for Repository.new.create(Entity.new(params)) and was very surprised to find they are not equivalent.

@radanskoric Hi :wave:

You’ve got several questions. Let me answer one-by-one.

Adding virtual attributes

The automatic mapping of database columns with entities attributes saves you from manually maintaining the schema.

Let’s say your columns are:

CREATE TABLE users (
    id integer NOT NULL,
    encrypted_password text,
    created_at timestamp without time zone,
    updated_at timestamp without time zone
);

Automatically, User will have id, encrypted_password, created_at, and updated_at attributes.

Any change to the schema automatic schema must be added manually.

class User < Hanami::Entity
  attributes do
    attribute :id,                 Types::Int
    attribute :password,           Types::String
    attribute :encrypted_password, Types::String
    attribute :created_at,         Types::Time